The Anglican Church of Tanzania

Geographical Area: 945,100 Sq Km

Population: 34,500,000


Archbishop of Tanzania & Bishop of Mpwapwa
The Most Revd Jacob Erasto Chimeledya



The Universities Mission to Central Africa and the Church Missionary Society began work in 1864 and 1878 at Mpwapwa. The Province was inaugurated in 1970 following the division of the Province of East Africa into the Province of Kenya and the Province of Tanzania. The twenty seven dioceses represent both evangelical and Anglo-Catholic Churches.

Provincial Secretary Login